The Night Before The Night Before

The Night Before The Night Before

November 29, 2021

On the night before the night before year 13,

I make chocolate chip cookies because you need cookies for a meeting and chocolate chips are not Christmas-y

On the night before the night before December 1,

I make sure I have ingredients for two days of cookies

On the night before the night before,

I consider what type of cookies are good for day one

On the night before the night before,

I wonder if I should make a list and then I say of course,

On the night before the night before,

I wonder if I will dream about cookies.

On the night before the night before,

I smile thinking about rice krispie squares, sugar cookies, peanut butter blossoms, ginger snickerdoodles, thumbprint cookies…

On the night before the night before,

I consider what surprises will fill the 17 days of cookies.

On the night before the night before,

I think back to all those other nights before with cookie poems, cookie hints, and cookie plates

On the night before the night before.

5 thoughts on “The Night Before The Night Before

Leave a comment