Paella #sol22

Paella #sol22

March 28, 2022

I don’t really know what possessed me, but yesterday I decide to make paella. It was National Paella Day according to my National Day calendar. I had been feeling mopey and sort of incompetent and I decided to go for it.

I gathered the appointed ingredients. There were a lot. Four kinds of proteins, chopped this and that, a herb sauce, the paella, and rice. Each component had its own preparation, mixture, and cooking time. All in all, it took about an hour to prepare filling the house with its exotic saffron smell.

I was pretty proud of myself in the end. Paella… on a Sunday! When I served it, it received mixed reviews. Our guest murmured Wow! Paella… My son picked around in it, separating the ingredients, and proclaimed, there’s a lot of different meat in here?! My husband, up for many a culinary trip, search out a Spanish wine and dug in.

Of course, there was a lot left over. All in all, I was excited to have tried it and it raised my spirits.

Today, I had progress monitoring meetings with my kindergarten colleagues. I got my ingredients together, but this was to be a pot luck. I was hoping each teacher’s ingredients and mine would meld together. We didn’t have too much time to cook, just one half hour for each teacher, not much time for our flavors to reach their potential.

In we jumped. We approached each meeting with excitement. My intern was our guest for this feast. Our nourishment, the growth. Some growth came out strong. Some we would add a little pinch of this and that too. In the end, I think everyone left feeling well fed.

Those are the best kind of meals.

3 thoughts on “Paella #sol22

Leave a comment