Five Things About Me

In the Slice of Life group particularly in the month of March, we are often inspired by the structure of the blog posts of others. Much like the manner in which we encourage student writers to study a mentor I have been inspired by countless bloggers. No more so than those that I have read for years. This post is inspired by Peter’s post, Five Things About Me at FiveHundredaDay, which was inspired by Elizabeth Ellington’s entry at The Dirigible Plum, which was inspired by aligett24’s post, Inspired by MG Lit.

Something About Yourself

Other people’s perceptions of me are almost always a shock. When someone says, oh, you’re so good at taking other people’s focus and drawing similarities, I have to consider it anew. Now, when people call me the baker, I know right where that comes from. I love to show love with food. I love to work out problems by cooking. I love to soothe souls with the smell of vanilla. (or perhaps lemon, blueberry, or apple)

Something about Your Neighborhood

I had never really been to New England when we moved here a dozen years ago. I’m still shocked by houses with plates that read established 1720 (or 1620). I still am amazed by the number of trees in every vista here. It still thrills me that I can walk on the sites of American Revolution or visit the home of Thoreau, Frost, or Emerson. The abundance of lobsters will never get old. The access to American history here is what I hold dear.

Something You Hate to Do

I stumbled at this. I’m not sure there is anything I hate to do. Perhaps the closest thing to this is I hate to leave. When I was younger and would leave my parents home to return to my own, I would physically ache from the withdrawal, fat tears leaking from my eyes for at least fifty miles. I have a difficult time leaving work if I haven’t finished up everything I’ve planned. I have a difficult time leaving the house on Saturday, savoring all the unplanned moments of the day. I have to make the bed, wash the dishes, clean off the counters before I leave the house. I’m usually the last person to leave a meeting. I am a poor leaver.

Something You Love to Do

I love to talk with my husband. I love the quicker talks standing in the kitchen while dinner is cooking. I love the quicker just-have-to-tell-you-this-one-more-thing talks. I love the ridiculously long talks we have with our son over the phone together. I love the in-the-car going somewhere talks. I even love the circular what’s-for-dinner talks. Actually not those talks so much. I do really enjoy dinner table talks and leisurely brunch talks and walking the dogs talks.

Something You Want to Learn

I want to learn to let things go. I want to make peace with loses. I want to leave things in my rear view mirror permanently behind me and focus on forward. I want to be easier on myself.

15 thoughts on “Five Things About Me

  1. Oh yes, learning to let things go would be a good one! I exhaust myself sometimes with my inability to let things go! I am so glad you found some inspiration in this format. It’s so interesting to me how it’s leading us to share something new that we haven’t necessarily written about before!

  2. Leaving losses behind and getting over things is a huge need that I have, too. I need to find a way to do this much better. It’s interesting that leaving is what is hard for me you and what you want to do is leave losses behind better. I need to find a way to see losses as gains.

  3. I have added this structure to my list of things to try. I do love how the challenge opens us up to new ways of writing. I can relate to the leaving especially leaving my classroom as there’s always more to do. Making peace with loss is a hard one and a life long lesson I think.

  4. I love the way your “Hate to Do” section leads gradually to “I’m a poor leaver.” It’s also very telling that you couldn’t think of anything that you really hate. That’s the mark of a positive person, I think. Your New England adjustment reminded me of Patricia MacLachlan’s comments about moving to New England from the prairie. She couldn’t stand all the trees that were blocking her view. I think she said it was like living inside a bunch of broccoli. I’d never lived on the prairie, so I had no idea how much sky I was missing.

  5. I am really taken with the power that this form brings! Each prompt contains something and more for the reader to consider. “I am a poor leaver.” You’ve inspired me to consider this for my next slice.

  6. I admire your courage, the way you set your sights on learning how to do the thing you hate. (Of course, ‘hate’ was probably a too-strong and not-quite-right label for the creative tack you took in responding to that one of these five.)

Leave a comment