In Sickness and In Health

In Sickness and in Health

March 7, 2020

I started feeling ill on my drive home Friday. By the time I arrived home, I was clammy, dizzy, and my head was pounding. With a minimum of explanation, I went to bed.

My husband followed me down the hall

Do you think you have a fever?

He busied around in the bathroom, found the thermometer, and attempted to take my temperature. I wasn’t completely conscious and fell asleep to a fitful night.

This morning I half heard him get up with our dog.

Susie is sick, Lily. We are going to let her sleep.

During the next hours, I heard him talking to the dog, going in and out, completing our Saturday tasks with his furry sidekick.

When I got out of bed late in the afternoon, he began to plying me with special juice with antioxidants, chicken and rice soup with the admonishment, Don’t touch anything.

While I was sitting, he changed the sheets, checked my forehead, and poured beverages. Every few minutes he asked, Do you need anything?

I didn’t stay up long and wandered back to clean sheets welcoming back to sleep. I heard him shut the door to keep the sun out.

Right now, he’s asleep on the coach. Perhaps he’s worn out.

12 thoughts on “In Sickness and In Health

  1. I was surprised to see you posting so late in the day. I hope you feel better soon. It’s hard enough to keep up with this challenge, but to try it when you’re feeling lousy is really hard. If it makes you feel any better, you captured this day, your own semi-consciousness and your caregiver’s kindnesses really well.

  2. I hope you are feeling better! I’ve been feeling inundated with all the virus talk that seems to be in full surround-sound. (Perhaps made worse because I traveled–via plane–making me even more aware of the potential for spread.) I love that your husband was taking such good care of you…and involved the dog in those tasks too.

  3. Such a loving husband! I’m so glad you have someone to care for you when you are sick, and I truly hope it’s something small that goes away very soon. Take care!

    And good for you for slicing despite the illness!

  4. I was sick last week and my husband was very helpful. He has come along way from our early marriage when his helping was shutting the bathroom door or running from the room when I was dealing with morning sickness that sometimes lasted all day with our first. It is nice to be taken care of – get well soon!

Leave a comment