…Magical Muffin Math #sol21 12/31

… Magical Muffin Math #sol21 12/31

March 12, 2022

A dozen muffins came out of the oven, all sugary tops with the fragrance of blueberry mingled with lemon.
Task seemingly completed, calm restored, the next step in their existence seemed inconsequential.

They sat there on the cooling rack.

Four muffins were scooted into a melanin bowl quickly grabbed from the cabinet and left in the microwave for safekeeping and a leisurely Saturday breakfast.

and then there were eight.

Eight muffins were snuggled into a tupperware, placed in the trunk, carried into the school, set on the table in the literacy center. The lid was lifted. Plates and napkins joined them on the table.

There were eight muffins.

My talk partner dropped by to check up on me. She sat down for a muffin and a chat and then there were seven.

Seven muffins on the table. Three were put on a plate to go to my third grade consult.

Three muffins on a paper plate with napkins on a classroom table. They were enjoyed over friendship and support with a side of series book discussion. One person said, “lemon and blueberry is my favorite combination.” My cozy group who was eager to hear about the magic of my needing three lemons for my impromptu baking and there being exactly three lemons in my refrigerator. They didn’t roll their eyes one time when I explained how I grated the lemon into the sugar, mixing it until you could smell the lingering smell of lemon. They were interested in hearing about how I used my fun lemon squeezer to squeeze those three lemons into a dish and then magically mixed that juice into the lemon sugar. I think I sweetened their thoughts.

Four muffins on the table in the tupperware.

A friend stopped by on the way to our morning duty. She said, “I wish I could bake my problems away.” I thought, I didn’t bake them away, but they do feel much smaller now.

And then there were three.

Later in the morning, Megan dropped by to talk about kindergarteners, third graders, and phonics. She savored every bite of her muffin sitting in the quiet book room. Her muffin enjoyed with a side of loyalty, support and humor. I love a dash of humor with my muffins and conversation.

Then there were two.

A colleague stopped by to say she appreciated me in her world. She lingered for a heart to heart that felt like a gift from the universe and a muffin…

and then there was one.

The last muffin traveled on a plate to my weekly meeting with the principal. It sat there patiently as I left the remains of my problem on his notepad. As I left, he said, I’m going to enjoy your muffin now.

and then all the muffins were gone. That problem seemed small enough to put in its place.

17 thoughts on “…Magical Muffin Math #sol21 12/31

  1. What a wonderful way of crafting your story- magical muffins, indeed. It seems like your muffins gave people a chance to talk, listen, be heard, and heal.

  2. What a clever slice of life! It shows your kindness, generosity, listening ear, and baking skills. I would have loved to savor one of those muffins for sure…plus a chat about literacy. 🙂

  3. Your stories are like the comfort food they describe and that recipe card at the end is brilliant for a writing prompt. This is a recipe of love and appreciation. Keep going. (nod to Maggie Smith)

  4. First off, I would love one of your muffins — or heck, anything you bake! It all always looks and sounds delish! In reading this, I imagined it as a picture book — for counting and description, community, and of course, generosity!

  5. Reading your slice, my brain leaped to a line from T.S. Eliot’s “Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock”: “I have measured out my life with coffee spoons.” Muffins, for the record, are way better — as your slice so generously illustrates.

Leave a comment