A Writing Journey #sol21

A Writing Journey #sol21

March 21, 2021

In honor of World Poetry Day, I expose my writing life in five sentences.

In the beginning, it was all about formation and drawing and the words between spilling out in loopy scrawl

After that, it was all about finishing someone else’s thought prompt, what do you want to be when you grow up, how about what do I want to be today and… how many pages do you want me to write?

In the moody middle it was all about that stream of consciousness in my journal(s), syntax, punctuation conspicuously absent.

Then it was all about painstakingly trying to explain my thoughts and research in the strict format of MLA, font, spacing, and oxford commas.

But now it is all about joyous freedom to scribble sentences with five year olds, develop an argument on the spot,

lingered over, composed in my head before it hits the paper or the screen, all about exposing my thoughts to fresh air and their limitless potential…

so much more that I ever imagined it then.

6 thoughts on “A Writing Journey #sol21

  1. Great job. I love “moody middle” and “exposing my thoughts”. Interesting to think about the steps in a writing life.

  2. I can relate to this Slice. I often reflect on my writing journey, but have never put it in writing. I love the way use chronology to show the transitions in your writing journey. I love the words, “But now it’s all about joyous freedom”…These words fulfill my feelings for my notebook, as well as my writing journey…joyous freedom.

Leave a comment