Excuses, Excuses #sol21

Excuses, Excuses #sol21

March 19, 2021

I have a really, really good friend. She is responsible for making me a better person in so, so many ways. I realized this morning again that she is an encourager… and a waiter.

I, however, am full of excuses…

She called me early last week on our way to work.

When are you going to be fully immunized? I am going to be finished with my two weeks on the 25th. Hey, we are both going to be fully immunized then, let’s get together and hug.

This seems like a great idea…

She texts me Tuesday, let’s get together the night of the 25th.

The first text I don’t see at first and then I don’t answer at all…

She texts me again yesterday, let’s get together on the 25th.

I answer back that I’m so tired on week nights, I can’t do anything. And besides, I have a meeting that day until 4.

She texts back, Sure, we can get together on the weekend.

I let that text lay there for a few hours. I think about it. I wonder about it. I frown about it. I talk to Bob about it.

I text her back…I’m cranky and disagreeable. Let’s get together on Thursday or any day after school the next week.

2nd text from me to her…You should call me on that stuff.

She responds, I love you so much. I’ll see you any time.

Lesson: have friends that are better than you. They nudge you into being a better person.

Can’t wait to hug her next week. It’s going to be really long and super tight.

11 thoughts on “Excuses, Excuses #sol21

  1. “Have friends better than you”. what a line! What a notion. In this slice, she may be better than you, but I would bet that you are also better than her in other times — that’s what makes your friendship, well, a friendship! Here’s to the hug, it’s a comin’!!!

  2. I love your thought – Have friends that are better than you. I definitely have those friends that help me be a better person. Hugs are something I really miss. I hope you can hug your friend and experience a boatload of bear hugs in the very near future! Great post, Susan!

  3. Pingback: Friendship – Where There's Joy

  4. I feel this piece! I, too, have friends that are better than me—or at least as bad, because we’ve each honored one another’s varying states of emotion and resilience throughout the pandemic. How lucky you are to have such a great friend!

  5. Your slice excellently captures the give and take in this situation. Enjoy that hug and your friend. Today’s slice plus your 3/17 one inspired me to go digging for some bon mots about friendship. Here’s what I’ve got, via Proust and Brainy Quote: “Let us be grateful to people who make us happy, they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom.”

  6. Pingback: Gravity or Glue – FiveHundredaDay

Leave a comment