A Year Ago #sol21

A Year Ago. #sol21

March 12, 2021

A year ago, I woke up to a new day. I wrote about that last day in this post, A Brand New Day. School’s were closed, we didn’t know for how long. There were so many things we didn’t know that day.

I had just been sick that week, the sickest I had been in my life. Days and days of fever to the point I couldn’t think straight. I called the doctor, but didn’t go to the office for the risk. A dozen teachers at the school had that same virus also sick for days. I didn’t know then that was possible COVID-19. We’ve speculated many days and months after, was that COVID? We don’t know. When I finally took an antigen test in late August, there wasn’t a sign of the virus.

I stood in the Literacy Center that afternoon thinking of just the current units of study and my current coaching cycle. I didn’t know then that the next twelve weeks I would create a hub, an office, a classroom, a refuge in my dusty, neglected basement office used at that time to warehouse books. I hesitated that afternoon in the literacy center, turning around slowly considering what I might need if…. I had no idea what that it would mean.

A year ago, I had never gone to a google meet or a zoom meeting. I had never made a youtube video, or jerry-rigged a document camera from magnet clips and tin cans. I hadn’t shared my screen or read a book on line considering how the students could see the picture. I had no idea what asynchronous instruction meant.

A year ago, Friday the 13th really felt like Friday the 13th . There were so many unknowns.

A year ago, I had my first pivot. That day before I went home, I had taught in person with a student practicing his name writing. That name stayed written on my white board for five months. The magnetic letters that he arranged and rearranged to spell each letter, his lop-sided name painstaking written in bright orange crawled across the board.

The white board, the books, the desk would sit for a week until I had my appointment to come in and empty off the surfaces so that they could be disinfected. I still hadn’t learned about wearing masks and gloves, about endless hand sanitizing, and plexiglass barriers.

Now, online teaching is second nature. I have 6 or more small groups, conferences, and meetings a day on line. I can make a youtube video on a subject or a strategy using a pear deck or a jam board, google slides or quicktime in a few minutes.

Now, I have masks in my teacher bag, in my car, in my sock drawer, ready to match my outfit of the day, an outfit that almost exclusively consists of jeans. I have hand sanitizer on my cart, in my car, in my bag, on my desk and on my mind.

I’ve learned a lot this year. I’ve grieved a lot. I’ve struggled a lot. Mostly, I have hoped a great deal. Hoped for a day again to snuggle next to a readers, to read a book on a rug with a group of students I just dropped in on, to see the smile on the face of lots of people in real life… just like a year ago.

7 thoughts on “A Year Ago #sol21

  1. The image of the name on the whiteboard is a powerful one, Susan. Classrooms felt like time capsules. And yes, there’s been a lot of learning that’s happened, but a lot of loss too. It will feel good to huddle over a book again.

  2. I remember thinking… oh an extended Spring Break?? That will be nice. But it wasn’t:( Love your thoughts.

  3. It seems like just a moment ago and a whole lifetime ago, doesn’t it? You’ve captured these moments and feelings perfectly. We’re all more resilient than we ever thought, but also more impacted by all of this than most of us will ever admit.

  4. We have a lot of parallels in our slices! That child’s name on the board is surely unforgettable. I like how you wrapped this up pointing out you’ve grieved, learned, struggled, and hoped. I feel like that, too. Reading about the shift to working remotely last year through your eyes made me realize how many things we learned so quickly! Reading someone else’s slice seemed to make that more clear – it was a lot! (I had to Google asynchronous learning because I had zero clue what it was back then.) Here’s to brighter days and seeing students’ smiles in person again!

Leave a comment