My Mission Statement #sol18

downloadMy Mission… Statement #sol18

October 9, 2018

 

Last week, my virtual friend, the amazing middle school teaching Iowan, Darin Johnston published this thought-provoking slice about his mission statement.  His real life- real time PLC was working on Covey-related thinking and charged their members to write a mission statement.  Darin, like many of us perhaps,  thought he didn’t really have a mission statement.  Like most of my virtual PLN, he decided to write about it and ask for feedback from his virtual PLN. His short list was poignant and contemplative and inspiring.

So at the first bend of a new school year, so many years down the road,  I think of my short list,  my mission.  Inspired by Stephen Covey.  Inspired by Darin.  Inspired by my own band of co-conspirators.  Inspired by all that has brought me here.

My Mission 

  • Perhaps instead of beginning with the end in mind we should begin with the now in mind. 
  • Do your best today
  • Notice the people and the environment around you
  • Appreciate now
  • Give yourself and others the benefit of the doubt
  • Take ownership of your actions, thoughts, and words
  • Believe in potential.
  • Accept other’s truth

As Darin said,  it’s hokey and a bit fluffy.  But we all need a compass as Covey would say and perhaps we should follow that compass more often.  So this is going up on that messy white board above my desk.  The one with the loaned books list,  the inspiration from Colby Sharp, the instagram that I save about teaching tomorrow, the papers I don’t want to lose.  Because I don’t want to lose this.  I don’t want to lose the white board that says, You’re doing the best you can do… right now.  I want to live in the right, right now.  Affect change in the right now.  Appreciate, admire, encourage… right now.

Thanks Darin.  Your words weren’t hokey or fluffy.  They were inspirational… as always.

Screen Shot 2017-06-27 at 8.32.28 AM

 

Here’s to @iowaconflictedteacher, Pernille Ripp, who inspired three teachers I know to think globally this week, and my encouragers who read faithfully and encourage freely including all of the folks at TwoWritingTeachers, who inspired this community and nurture it freely.

7 thoughts on “My Mission Statement #sol18

  1. Living, being, in the now is a great mission. I try to self-talk myself into the now all the time. I am better at it at work than in my personal life. Living in the now brings a presence of mind, a calmness, an appreciation. This one is so important: Perhaps instead of beginning with the end in mind, we should begin with the now in mind. I look forward to seeing your mission on your whiteboard!

  2. “Begin with the now in mind”–so, so powerful and so, so important. I think we’re all so accustomed to planning and thinking with the end in mind. It’s an interesting exercise to think about what we would do differently today if we were focused on the now, on today, on making today matter. I have a feeling that would lead to some powerful learning.

  3. A few years ago I had students write mission statements. So often they, and we, lack a sense of purpose and a way to envision our purpose long term. What I like most about your mission statement is its focus on kindness, which we all need more of in this world.

  4. > I don’t want to lose the white board that says, You’re doing the best you can do… right now. I want to live in the right, right now. Affect change in the right now. Appreciate, admire, encourage… right now.<

    This, my friend, is amazing. Thank you for sharing your words with us freely every week. Thank you for the inspiration to keep pushing forward. I hope to see that picture above your white board.

    Your slice makes this conflicted teacher a little less so.

Leave a comment